can confirm a new format has been adopted to see out the 2020 Universities, Polytechnics and Colleges (UPAC) Basketball Championship.

The new format has eight Universities due to compete for the title following the suspension of this year’s edition due to the Corona virus pandemic.

The original schedule had 32 Universities and Colleges compete across eight zones and the zonal winners converge in Ghana’s capital, Accra to battle it out over a three day period for the winner.

However, the new format has the eight competing teams battle it out over a two day period to decide the winner at the Tema Community 4 Court on December 29 and December 30.

Originally, University of Ghana’s Central Court was set to host the final phase but the court popularly known as the Chinese Court will host the tournament for the first time ever.

Radford University

The Tema Court is home to the Tema Basketball League and will host an abridged version of Ghana’s biggest tertiary basketball competition while observing COVID 19 protocols.

By Yaw Adjei-Mintah

@YawMintYM on Twitter


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here