The hugely anticipated Ghana Basketball Awards will take place on June 7 in Accra.

After months of intense speculations, players and officials are expected to be awarded for their sterling performance in 2012 at a huge ceremony in Accra.

The one-day gala is expected to draw the crème de crème of Ghana basketball fraternity as well officials of the Ministry of Youth and Sports, National Sports Authority as well as the business and corporate community.

A careful and meticulous process was followed in selecting players who managed to make the cut for the nominees.

The various categories ranging from Most Promising Player, High School Player of the Year (boys and girls), Most Valuable Player, Female Player of the Year, Team of the Year and Referee of the Year amongst others.

Mfantsipim’s Daniel Owusu, Anthony Duodu (Kawanopado) and Kwadwo Attafuah (Akosombo International School) will vie for the Most Promising Player of the Year.

The High School Player of the Year (male) will be hugely contested for by four players who have excelled heavily in the year under review.

They are Julian Morgan (Mfantsipim,) Emmanuel Wolf (Koforidua Secondary Technical School), Mawuli Dogbe (Keta Senior High) and Rudolf Akrasi Retting (Opoku Ware School).

Full classified award


Award Categories Nominees Recipient
Most Promising Player
  1. Daniel Owusu (Mfanstipim Basic School Cape Coast)
  2. Anthony Duodu (Kawanopado, Cape Coast)
  3. Kwadwo Attafuah (AIS, Akosombo)
High School Player of the Year (boys)
  1. Julian Morgan (Mfantsipim, Cape Coast)
  2. Emmanuel Wolf (KSTS, Koforidua)
  3. Mawuli Dogbe (Ketasco, Keta)
  4. Rudolf Retting Akrasi (Opoku Ware School, Kumasi)
High School Player of the Year (girls)
  1. Matilda Gordon (Aggrey Memorial, Cape Coast)
  2. Ajata Iddrisu (Aggrey Memorial, Cape Coast)
  3. Ama Serwa  Mitchual (St Mary’s, Accra)
Overall MVP of the year – National MVP


  1. Baniba Dodzi (CEPS and Accra Polytechnic)
  2. Cyril Clarke (Tema Youth and University of Ghana
  3. Hashim Brimah  (CEPS)
  4. Emmanuel Dickson (Police and Accra Polytechnic)
Female Player of the year


  1. Promise Ofori (Prisons)
  2. Mavis Martey (Police)
  3. Rahinatu Suleiman (Police)


Team of the year
  1. CEPS


  1. Ghana’s Under-18 team
  2. Accra Polytechnic
  3. Mfantsipim


Referee of the year
  1. Bamford Gasu Quarmyne
  2. Samuel Baah
  3. Anthony Anane
Coach of the year
  1. Brimah Lawah (CEPS, Accra Poly)
  2. Emmanuel Quaye (Tema Youth)
  3. Seth Okine (coach, Ghana U18 team)




  1. marvelous development in the association… cool.. loving it.. and i think ma boy wolf and ma snr dodzie are topping their category…

  2. well am very happi for this awards day.thanks to the organisers,but in my view and on the fface of the pink sheet i will have awarded the best coach to Mr mathais Ocloo of CYO and Alhaji Kwaku Jackson off holy family fame for their contribution and the development of the game till now any way dats my point .thanks for this opportunity

  3. Am glad about this awards, but I know there are more sick players out there who haven’t participated in any competition yet, big up to you kwame sekyi (TV Africa), clock (knust), am looking forward to dogbe ketasco you win his category, he is a wild folk.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here