Julian Morgan 1

The race for honour in the 2013 Ghana Basketball Awards is on and you could be the one who could virtually help your favourite player or team to clinch the ultimate crown.

For the first time in the history of basketball in Ghana, an award scheme has been put in place to ensure players and officials who have excelled in the game are hugely recognized and rewarded.

Fans will now get the chance to vote for their best player in the various nominees by just texting their NAME to short code BB to 1903 (on Airtel, Expresso and Vodafone) while MTN subscribers can text the name of their favourite player to 1909.

So for instance if you want Julian Morgan to win the High School Player of the Year, you can simply text BB – Julian Morgan –to 1903 on the three networks and 1909 on MTN

The same procedure applies to all the other nominees in the other categories.

The 2013 Ghana Basketball Awards will take place on Friday June 7, 2013 LIVE at the studios of TV Africa at 8pm


Award Categories Nominees
Most Promising Player
  1. Daniel Owusu (Mfanstipim Basic School Cape Coast)
  2. Anthony Duodu (Kawanopado, Cape Coast)
  3. Kwadwo Attafuah (AIS, Akosombo)
High School Player of the Year (boys)
  1. Julian Morgan (Mfantsipim, Cape Coast)
  2. Emmanuel Wolf (KSTS, Koforidua)
  3. Mawuli Dogbe (Ketasco, Keta)
  4. Rudolf Retting Akrasi (Opoku Ware School, Kumasi)
High School Player of the Year (girls)
  1. Matilda Gordon (Aggrey Memorial, Cape Coast)
  2. Ajata Iddrisu (Aggrey Memorial, Cape Coast)
  3. Ama Serwa  Mitchual (St Mary’s, Accra)
Overall MVP of the year – National MVP


  1. Baniba Dodzi (CEPS and Accra Polytechnic)
  2. Cyril Clarke (Tema Youth and University of Ghana
  3. Hashim Brimah  (CEPS)
  4. Emmanuel Dickson (Police and Accra Polytechnic)
Female Player of the year


  1. Promise Ofori (Prisons)
  2. Mavis Martey (Police)
  3. Rahinatu Suleiman (Police)


Team of the year
  1. CEPS


  1. Ghana’s Under-18 team
  2. Accra Polytechnic
  3. Mfantsipim


Referee of the year
  1. Bamford Gasu Quarmyne
  2. Samuel Baah
  3. Anthony Anane
Coach of the year
  1. Brimah Lawah (CEPS, Accra Poly)
  2. Emmanuel Quaye (Tema Youth)
  3. Seth Okine (coach, Ghana U18 team)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here