By Yaw Adjei-Mintah
@ YawMintYM on Twitter

UENR and Sunyani Technical will be in action on March 22 in Zone F.

University of Ghana (UG) won last year’s competition.
Exactly a week from today, the 2017 Universities, Polytechnics and Colleges (UPAC) Basketball Championship will tipoff at the University of Ghana Central Court in Ghana’s capital Accra on February 17.

This year’s edition will be the fourth of the country’s top ranked tertiary basketball competition and opens with games in Zone A between Marshalls University College, Maritime University College, Ghana Technology University College (GTUC) and Ghana Institute of Management and Public Administration (GIMPA).

28 teams representing institutions from all three sectors at Ghana’s tertiary level will compete in this year’s tournament including teams from the country’s Eastern Region.

Only winners of the seven zones make it to the next round of the competition which takes place on April 6 and 7 with the final rounds set for April 8.

Zone A features two of last year’s quarter finalists; Marshalls and GIMPA and one debutant in Maritime University.
GTUC on the other hand, failed to make it out of the preliminary round in 2016.

University of Ghana are the reigning champions after beating two time winners Accra Technical University 45-44 in last year’s final game.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here