UCC-Cape-Coast Technical in last year’s edition.
Marshalls-TTU in 2016 Quarter Final game.
UCC failed to qualify from the zone last year.

Zone C of this year’s Universities, Polytechnics and Colleges (UPAC) Basketball Championship is set to tipoff on Friday March 3 at the University of Cape-Coast (UCC) in the wake of a thrilling opener in Zone B.

Only zone winners qualify to the quarter finals slated for April 6 and 7 in Accra.

All Nations University College qualified from the zone stunning Valley View University in the process but on Friday, Takoradi Technical University (TTU), University of Education-Winneba (UEW), Cape-Coast Technical University and host UCC take their turns in the two month long tournament.

Aside UEW, the remaining zone members featured in last year’s preliminary edition where TTU beat UCC 49-46 after inflicting a massive 61-33 beat down on Cape-Coast Technical.

With UEW returning to the fold and not forgetting its good albeit short run in the GUSA Games in January this year, the field is expected to be one of the most keenly contested zones in the qualifying round.

UCC on the other hand, fared better in January by placing second behind UPAC Champions University of Ghana and are expected to replicate such form in the UPAC.

Despite losing key contributors from last year’s team including Raphael Buchag, TTU is still regarded as a strong contender.

By Yaw Adjei-Mintah
@ YawMintYM on Twitter


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here