Nigeria won its first African Championship in 2015.
Record winner Angola is Zone 6 alongside South Africa and Zambia.

Ahead of the 2017 FIBA Africa Basketball Championship, AfroBasket, will played in Brazzaville, Congo Republic between August 19 and 30, qualifiers for the grand event are scheduled to be honored in the coming weeks this month.

Reigning Champions Nigeria and Host Congo Republic have automatically qualified for the Championship but will compete in the qualifiers.

The battle for slots starts in Zone 1 between March 16 and March 18 with the first leg featuring Algeria, Tunisia and Morocco in Algiers. The second leg comes off on March 24 and March 26.

Two slots at the main Championship are available for the first and second placed teams in the group; Libya has pulled out from competing. All three teams in the group competed at the last AfroBasket held in Tunisia in 2015 with Morocco losing 68-69 to Tunisia in the round of 16.

Tunisia placed third with an 82-73 win over Senegal.

Zones 2 and 3 feature a host of West African teams with Benin, Cote D’Ivoire and Burkina Faso set to compete in Zone 3 in Benin. The return leg will however be staged in Cote D’Ivoire between March 24 and 26.

Zone 2 has Cape Verde, Guinea, Mali and Senegal competing.

By Yaw Adjei-Mintah
@YawMintYM on Twitter


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here