KNUST (yellow) won all games in Zone G.
UENR beat Catholic University (blue) to qualify.
University of Ghana qualified from Zone D.
All Nations won all three games to top Zone B.

The list of teams set to compete in the quarterfinals of the 2017 Universities, Polytechnics and Colleges (UPAC) Basketball Championship is complete in light of Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology (KNUST) and University of Energy and Natural Resources (UENR) qualification.

The two teams made it through Zone G and Zone F at the Kumasi Technical University (KTU) to secure spots in the latter stage which is set to be played in Ghana’s capital, Accra in April.

Prior to the duo’s qualification, Marshalls and All Nations University Colleges had qualified from Zones A and B with University of Cape-Coast doing same in Zone C.

Reigning Champions University of Ghana topped Zone D to book its spot while Accra Technical University qualified from Zone E.

With the exception of University of Cape-Coast and All Nations, the remaining teams in the quarterfinal pool played at this stage in last year’s edition.

University of Development Studies (UDS-Tamale) who have been invited to to the competition, failed to compete last year despite qualifying for the quarters.

A special draw will be conducted to pair the teams with the games to be played next month.

By Yaw Adjei-Mintah
@YawMintYM on Twitter


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here