Nigeria won its first African Championship in 2015.

Draw for the FIBA 2019 World Cup has tossed up interesting matchups across the four continents that will have teams compete for spots in the upcoming tournament.

The Draw was completed in the wee hours on Sunday May 7 in Guanzghou, China which pitched teams in the African, American, Asian and European continents into groups.

15 teams have been paired in groups with the final team to be announced at a later date. Reigning continental champions Nigeria has been drawn in Group B alongside Mali, Rwanda and Uganda while multiple African champions Angola is in Group C alongside Democratic Republic of Congo, Morocco and Egypt.

In the American qualifiers, reigning World Champions United States is in Group C with neighbors Mexico, Puerto Rico and Cuba and 2004 Olympic Champions Argentina is in Group A with Uruguay, Paraguay and Panama.

The World Cup will have an increased roster of 32 teams which an upgrade on the 24 team roster that competed at the last World Cup in Spain. 80 teams will battle for spots beginning November 24.

Below is a full list of the various groups:

By Yaw Adjei-Mintah
@YawMintYM on Twitter


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here