The late Nii Nortey Dua presenting 2013 Winners Mfantsipim with Trophy

Takoradi Technical Intsitute students with Sprite Ball Trophy

Mfantsipim Coach Mensah
Rivals Mfantsipim School and Keta Senior High Technical School are the lead act in Group A of the Sprite Ball Championship after the pair was drawn with relative novices.

The standout duo is joined by relative novices Presbyterian Senior High School (PRESEC-Osu) and Takoradi Technical Institute (TTI).

The draw was conducted in a live broadcast on Ghana channel Kwese Free Sports with Ghana Basketball Association Chairman David Addo Ashong in attendance.

Mfantsipim are the record winners of the Sprite Ball Championship having won the prestigious competition on four occasions and has featured in the final game of the past two editions.

Keta on the other hand, won the 2014 edition beating PRESEC-Legon in the final game and has placed second and third in previous editions with John Teye Okumoh and Sedem Tettevi leading the team.

Mfantsipim and Keta have a feisty history at the Championship following epic clashes in previous editions; another chapter in the rivalry will be written early next year.

Western Region representative TTI returns to the Championship after a lengthy absence from the competition. Next year’s edition marks back to back appearances for PRESEC-Osu.

Next year’s Championship takes place from January 4-6, 2018 at the El Wak Stadium in Accra.

By Yaw Adjei-Mintah
@YawMintYM on Twitter


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here