Nigeria won its first African Championship in 2015.
Defending African Nations Championship (AfroBasket) Champions Nigeria has officially rolled a 12 man team for this year’s tournament Basketballballghana.com can confirm.

The 2017 AfroBasket takes place from September 8-16 in Senegal and Tunisia; Nigeria is in Group B alongside Democratic Republic of Congo, Mali and Ivory Coast.

Nigeria heads to the event with a new technical team headed by Alex Nwora after 2015 winning Coach Will Voight vacated the spot.

Ike Diogu, Daniel Ochefu, Ike Nwamu, Ike Iroegbu, Anthony Odunsi, Kelechi Anuna, Abdul Yahaya, Akin Akingbala, O’Karo Akamune, Bryant Mbamalu, Dike Azuoma and Deji Akindele have made the final list for the competition.

Diogu maintains his spot in the team following his stint with the team in 2015; Diogu is a former NBA lottery pick and has played extensively in the Chinese Basketball Association.

Ochefu was recently drafted by Washington Wizards and makes the team as one of several foreign-based players; eight home based players were dropped in the lead up to naming the final roster.

D’Tigers open the competition with a tie against Ivory Coast.

By Yaw Adjei-Mintah
@YawMintYM on Twitter


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here