Team Captain Botsyo Nkegbe.

20 players have been selected to Ghana’s National Wheelchair Basketball Team following the conclusion of games in the National Sports Festival.

The multi sport discipline which was held in Ghana’s Ashanti Region capital, Kumasi had over 2000 athletes participating in disciplines like Handball, Women’s Soccer and Tennis among others.

Brong- Ahafo Region won gold in the Wheelchair Basketball competition with Greater Accra Region coming second and home side Ashanti coming third ahead of Northern Region.

Unsurprisingly, players from Brong-Ahafo and Accra dominate the list of call ups ahead of African qualifiers due to take place in Durban, South Africa from November 17-26. Next year’s World Cup will be held in Spain.

Both regions have four players representing respectively ahead of Northern Region which had three players make the preliminary team. The roster, headlined by National Team Captain Raphael Botsyo Nkegbe will be trimmed to 12 for the qualifiers.

Based on performance, attitude and team work traits, players below have been selected by Coach Elvis Alupui and technical team:

Brong Ahafo Region
Raphael Botsyo Nkegbe
Richard Mensah
Isaac Antwi
Francis Boateng

Eastern Region
Benjamin Tettey
Emmanuel Agyen

Upper East
Akologo Aloni
Mumuni Suraju

Central Region
Richmond Essel
John Afadzi
Samuel Boateng

Northern Region
Mohammed Tahiru
Hussein Firdaus
Alhassan Abdul-Wahab

Greater Accra Region
Sherif Dini Hamidu
Timothy Hayford
Rashad Ramat Mohammed
Emmanuel Abban Alarbi

Ashanti Region
Bismarck Kyei
Kofi Acheampong

By Yaw Adjei-Mintah
@YawMintYM on Twitter


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here