2016 winners Ahly
Pillars in Abubakar in action.
The 2017 FIBA Africa Champions Cup tips off later today in Rades, Tunisia following the conclusion of qualifying games throughout the continent.

This year’s competition runs from December 11-20 with 12 teams set to compete for the title won last year by Egyptian side Al Ahly.

Ahly will not be around to defend its title after failing to participate in Zone 5 games held in Uganda earlier in the year.

However, a sizable North African representation will be witnessed at the games as the likes of Tunisia ES Rades and Union Sportive Monastir have qualified to compete in the games.

Unfortunately, Ghana will not be represented at the tournament since league Champions Braves of Customs missed out securing one of two spots from Zone 3.

The Zone featured teams from parts of the West African sub region and Nigerian duo Kano Pillars and Gombe Bulls topped the zone.

Kano is in Group A which has 2016 participants AS Sale of Morocco and Uganda’s City Oilers drawn alongside. Bullas are in Group B with the likes of GS Petroliers of Algeria and Sporting Libolo of Angola.

Below is a full list of participating teams:

By Yaw Adjei-Mintah
@YawMintYM on Twitter


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here