Emmanuel Agyapong was phenomenal in OWASS’ win.
Opoku Ware won the boys division at the December Sprite Ball Championship.

OWASS Harris gathers rebound in Sprite Ball final
Reigning Sprite Ball Male Division Champions Opoku Ware School-OWASS- has landed in Group A of the upcoming competition following the anticipated draw.

OWASS has been drawn in what is widely regarded as an easy group alongside Mawuli Senior High School, Sacred Heart Senior High and Adisadel College.

Unlike other contenders in the division, OWASS faces teams with no experience playing at the semifinal stage of the prestigious competition.

The best result between the remaining members of the group is a quarterfinal appearance with Mawuli progressing beyond the group stage at the last edition in December, 2016.

Record winners Mfantisipim School has been paired with 2014 winners Keta Senior High Technical while Group B has silver medalist Prempeh College and Koforidua Senior High Technical School.

January 2016 winners St. Augustine’s College is in Group C with 2014 silver medalist Presbyterian Boys Senior High School (PRESEC-Legon) and 2016 bronze medalist Pope John Senior High.

Despite the loss of several players from the winning team at the last edition, OWASS still has a lot of firepower with mercurial Point Guard Emmanue “Ghost” Agyapong returning.

Next year’s competition takes place from January 4-6 at the the El Wak Stadium in Accra.

By Yaw Adjei-Mintah
@YawMintYM on Twitter


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here