Ocloo is a founding father of the Accra Basketball league.
UG (blue) qualified ahead of UCC at the 2017 UPAC Championship.
ATU’s Alhassan crosses over against UENR in the UPAC quarterfinals.
Marshalls David Asingar in action against Accra Technical University in the UPAC.

ATU’s freshman Taufick Mohammed contests a three point attempt against Marshalls in the UPAC..
In the aftermath of the 2018 Sprite Ball Championship, this year’s edition of the Universities, Polytechnics and Colleges (UPAC) Basketball Championship is in the works.

The competition for tertiary institutions is scheduled to commence in the latter parts of February Basketballghana.com gathers.

This year’s event will be fifth in the competition’s history dating back to the maiden tournament held in 2011 which had Accra Technical University clinch the title ahead of University of Education-Winneba.

The 2018 edition will be played in the shadows of the first year anniversary of legendary Ghanaian basketball figure Matthias Ocloo’s demise.

One of the founding members of Ghana’s premier club competition- the Accra Basketball League- Ocloo passed away on February 18 last year after a long battle with illness.

The sad news came prior to the start of the 2017 tournament which had University of Ghana (UG) clinch the title with a convincing win over Marshalls University College.

Beating Marshalls marked UG’s second consecutive win after triumphing in 2016.

By Yaw Adjei-Mintah
@YawMintYM on Twitter


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here