Rite Sports, the Sports Events Management Company celebrated for popularizing basketball in Ghana, is set to organize the first ever basketball reality show dubbed “B-BALL Challenge” which promises to be exciting, suspense –filled and very informative.

The ground breaking reality basketball television reality show is set to roll out later this year per information gathered by Basketballghana.com. The B-Ball Challenge is the first ever reality show about basketball in Ghana and its impending inception is a reflection on the sport’s immense growth in the nation.

The Top 40 High School Players in Ghana were selected from the 2017/2018 Sprite Ball Championship, the national High Schools Basketball Championship, to participate in this programme. Players were picked by an expert panel fronted by 2-time Ghana Basketball Awards Coach of the Year winner Lawal Brimah. There will be a final justifier in May 2018 to reduce the number to 24.

The final 24 Players will be camped throughout the month of August 2018 where they will be trained by local and foreign coaches.

There will be LIVE Eviction sessions with the final 5 receiving educational scholarships to schools both local and abroad as well as cash prizes. Other participants will receive consolation prizes.

“Unlike other Reality Shows seen in Ghana, the B-BALL Challenge focuses on improving the skill-set of these players and to provide educational opportunities for them”, Yaw Sakyi Afari, CEO of Rite Sports said in an interview with BasketballGhana.com.

He added that “These players will have lots of fun and empowering sessions including trips to exciting places, movie nights, Time with Role Models, games with selected teams both in and outside Accra, swimming sessions but will also go through some drills including climbing the Aburi Mountain at dawn, quiz sessions to test their knowledge of the game, etc”.

The 40 selected Players are from 14 High Schools representing 5 regions in Ghana. Reigning Sprite Ball Champions Presbyterian Senior High School (Osu-PRESEC) dominate the list of selected players with its entire Championship winning starting unit included.

By Yaw Adjei-Mintah
@YawMintYM on Twitter


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here