African Champions Tunisia Photo Courtesy:
Ben Uzoh of Nigeria Photo Courtesy:

Two of Africa’s buzzing centers will host the next round of qualification games on the continent for the 2019 FIBA World Cup in China.

Lagos, Nigeria and Tunis, Tunisia will host the 12 top teams following three rounds of qualifiers which commenced last year.

The 12 teams have been broken down to two groups with each group containing six teams; Group E and Group F respectively.

Group E games will be played in Tunis and involve host Tunisia, Angola, Cameroon, Chad, Egypt and Morocco in the North Africa heavy contingent.

Group F on the other hand will have Nigeria, Central African Republic, Ivory Coast, Mali, Rwanda and Senegal in action in Lagos.

The latter group has a strong West African presence with former African champions Nigeria in and consistent AfroBasket medalist Senegal featuring.

Surprise package Chad has been thrown into a tough group where they face reigning African champions and host Tunisia.

The games will be played from September 14 to September 16.

By Yaw Adjei-Mintah
@YawMintYM on Twitter


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here