Braves Suleman Abubakar guards Kobo of Hoopers.
Sale won the competition Photo Courtesy:

15 teams have qualified to the 2019 AfroLeague tournament with just the wildcard spot left to complete the 16 team roster.

Ghana’s Braves of Customs missed on qualifying after placing fourth in the FIBA Zone 3 qualifiers behind Rivers Hoopers and Civild Defenders of Nigeria and Benin’s Elan Sportif.

The competition hitherto known as Africa Champions Cup, is now the AfroLeague. The name change is part of sweeping reforms to the competition.

Unlike previous editions of the continental competition which was held at one location, the upcoming edition has teams playing in home and away basis.

Teams from African powerhouses Angola, Nigeria, Tunisia and Democratic Republic of Congo dominate the list of qualified teams.

Egypt has former champions Al Ahly and Smouha, Tunisia has ES Rades and JS Kairouan while Angola has Primeiro D’Agosto and Petro de Luanda representing in the tournament.

ASB Mazembe and ASB Terreur are representing DR Congo in next year’s competition which commences in January. Morocco’s AS Sale are defending champions and have qualified to the competition.

By Yaw Adjei-Mintah
@YawMintYM on Twitter


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here