Prempeh (white) v WASS

Kumasi Girls (white) v WASS

Accra Wesley Girls (yellow and blue kit) v St. Louis
OWASS topped ADISCO (white).

Unlike recent editions of Ghana’s biggest high school basketball tournament which was played in a three day period, this year’s Sprite Ball Championship will be played in two days.

An excellent Day One which had loads of thundering dunks ended earlier today at the El Wak Stadium in Accra with all 20 schools competing.

Debutant Sekondi College pulled off the biggest surprise by topping Group A ahead of defending champions Osu-PRESEC.

Sekondi College clinched a 26-20 win over PRESEC and a 34-9 win over fellow debutant Bishop Herman College. PRESEC placed second in the group.

In Group B, Prempeh College did just enough to top the Group ahead of West Africa Senior High School (WASS) thanks to a 35-28 win.

However, last year’s bronze medalist Pope John Senior High failed to progress from the group despite beating Prempeh 39-31 in the group opening game.

In Group C, Opoku Ware School wiped out memories of a disappointing 2018 campaign by topping the group with two wins.

Adisadel College placed third ahead of Koforidua Senior High Technical School (KSTS) that disappointed for the second straight year without winning a game.

Mfantsipim School laid down the mark in Group D and the entire competition in the Boys Division with big wins over second placed St. John’s School and Keta Business College.

In the Girls Division, defending champions Kumasi Girls Senior High School did not disappoint in its title defense and walked away with three wins in as many games.

However, 2018 finalist Accra Wesley Girls High School did the opposite in Group B losing two games ahead of its third match tomorrow.

Below is the full list of results on the opening day:

Boys Division
Osu PRESEC 33-9 Bishop Herman College
Pope John Senior High School 39-31 Prempeh College
Opoku Ware 42-16 KSTS

St. John’s 35-17 Keta Business
SEKCO 34-9 Bishop Herman
Mfantsipim School 39-19 St. John’s

Opoku Ware School 44-36 Adisadel College
Mfantsipim School 59-14 Keta Business College
Prempeh College 35-28 WASS

Adisadel College 36-18 KSTS
Osu PRESEC 20-26 Sekondi College

Girls Division
Shama Senior High School (SHASS) 20-9 Nkawkaw Senior High School
St. Louis Senior High School 13-11 Accra Wesley Girls High School
Mfantsiman Girls Senior High School 16-9 West Africa Senior High School (WASS)

WASS 33-6 Mawuli SHS
Kumasi Girls 43-16 Mfantsiman
St. Louis 29-14 Nkawkaw SHS

Accra Wesley Girls 19-22 SHASS
Kumasi Girls SHS 12-11 WASS
Kumasi Girls 39-6 Mawuli Senior High School

By Yaw Adjei-Mintah
@YawMintYM on Twitter


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here