JKT (black) v Oilers Photo Courtesy: FIBA

The list of teams to compete in the Basketball Africa League (BAL) Championship is complete following the confirmation of wild card teams.

Four teams-Cobra from South Sudan, JKT from Tanzania, ASB Mazembe from DR Congo and Al Naser from Libya-will feature in the Elite 16 stage.

12 teams had qualified from the preliminary stage but wild card spots had to be handed out to complete the roster to battle for the top eight spots.

The selected teams were picked from teams that competed in the qualifiers but failed to progress from their respective groups.

The Elite 16 stage runs from November 26 to December 22 with the teams drawn in Groups G and H respectively. Group G games are to be played in Yaounde, Cameroon and Group H games are to be played in Kigali, Rwanda.

Cobra and JKT will compete in Group H alongside Rwanda’s Patriots and City Oilers from Uganda while Mazembe and Al Naser will compete in Group G against teams like Abidjan Basket from Ivory Coast.

Oilers (white) v JKT Photo Courtesy: FIBA
Kigali Arena Photo Courtesy: All Africa.com
Oilers (blue) in action

By Yaw Adjei-Mintah

@YawMintYM on Twitter


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here