Team UG won the 2019 UPAC edition

The number of teams set to represent institutions in the upcoming 2020 Universities, Polytechnics and Colleges (UPAC) Basketball Championship will stay same per reports reaching

Since 2016, 32 institutions have competed in Ghana’s most prestigious basketball competition at the tertiary level; the tournament commenced in 2011.

Ghana’s biggest basketball portal also gathers the institutions are to be selected from seven regions in the West African nation just like previous editions since 2016.

This year’s competition is reportedly scheduled to commence on Saturday, March 7 at the Pope John Senior High School in Koforidua.

32 institutions are to be broken down into zones with four teams in each zone; the zonal winner qualifies to the national competition.

The qualified teams are to be further divided into two groups with four teams in each group; the top pair in each group progress to the semifinals.

University of Ghana (UG) has dominated the competition winning four straight titles since 2016 while Accra Technical University (ATU) won the 2011 and 2015 editions.

Shot from 2019 UPAC
Shot from 2019 UPAC
Shot from 2019 UPAC

By Yaw Adjei-Mintah

@YawMintYM on Twitter


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here