Radford University Guard Lawal Toyin

Another year, another Champion is the best way to summarize the timeline of winners in Zone One of the 2020 Universities, Polytechnics and Colleges (UPAC) Basketball Championship.

In previous editions, All Nations University College and Koforidua Technical University emerged winners and represented the zone at the national level.

However, Radford University College became the latest institution to clinch the zonal title after topping the competition this past weekend.

Radford beat Koforidua Technical 43-25 and proceeded to clinch a 46-31 win over All Nations University to qualify; the national competition in this year’s UPAC runs from April 16-18.

All Nations v KTU (white)

32 teams are competing in the seventh edition of Ghana’s biggest basketball tournament and have been grouped in eight zones with zonal winners qualify to the national level.

This was Radford University’s debut run in the zone after competing in Zone 7 in 2019; the team switched zones to avoid a schedule clash to its impending participation in another competition later this month. Radford’s Godwin Tetteh was named MVP in the Zone.


The 2020 UPAC is sponsored by CAL Bank, Decathlon and MTN.

By Yaw Adjei-Mintah

@YawMintYM on Twitter


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here