UCC Guard Benjamin Debrah attempts layup against UMaT

Radford University College and Takoradi Technical University have successfully defended their respective zonal crowns in the Universities, Polytechnics and Colleges (UPAC) Basketball Championship.

The teams topped Zones 7 and 2 last year and repeated as winners in this year’s edition with the zonal competitions held in Koforidua and Cape Coast respectively.

Radford University beat All Nations University College and Koforidua Technical University to clinch Zone One and progress to the national stage of Ghana’s biggest tertiary basketball tournament.


TTU on the other hand, triumphed over host University of Cape Coast (UCC) and University of Mines and Technology (UMaT) to win Zone 2.

Radford Small Forward Godwin Tetteh won Zone One’s MVP Award while TTU Guard Ibrahim Jafarro won the Zone 2 MVP Award.

MVP Winner Jafarro goes up for a layup

Both teams competed in the 2019 national championship but Radford missed out on progressing to the semifinal stage; TTU went all the way to the final before losing 42-47 to University of Ghana (UG).

The 2020 UPAC is sponsored by CAL Bank, MTN and Decathlon; the competition has since been halted due to the Corona Virus outbreak.

By Yaw Adjei-Mintah

@YawMintYM on Twitter


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here