Agyapong was phenomenal in OWASS' win.
Agyapong was phenomenal in OWASS’ win.


Players of Opoku Ware School have received 500 Ghana Cedis each for winning the tenth anniversary edition of the Sprite Ball Championship ahead of Mfantsipim late last year according to reports gathered by Basketballghana.com.

All 12 players of the winning side have received the amount from former students of the school who have been impressed by the team’s massive achievement; OWASS is the first school from the Ashanti Region in the boys division to win the coveted trophy.

Members of the technical team including Coach Alexander Obeng Takyi and Physical Education Master Charles Darkwa have also received similar amounts from the alumni.

This adds to the team’s riches after earning 10,000 Ghana Cedis as prize money for winning Ghana’s most prestigious high school basketball tournament.

Opoku Ware beat Mfantsipim School 27-25 in the final game on December 30 at the El Wak Stadium to cap off an outstanding year for the side that included winning the Ashanti Regional Basketball Championship.

Guard Emmanuel Agyapong was nominated High School Male Player of the Year at the 2016 Ghana Basketball Awards in August. Agyapong played an instrumental role in beating Mfantsipim.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here