UG (blue) beat UPSA to top Zone D.
Marshalls topped Zone A.

All Nations won all three games to top Zone B.
The 2017 Universities, Polytechnics and Colleges (UPAC) Basketball Championship is truly underway with four zones already played in the preliminary round.

Ahead of Zone E games on Thursday, March 16 at the Accra Technical University (ATU), so far, so little surprises, has been the theme of the competition.

As two time and record winners ATU prepares to play Wisconsin International University College, Pentecost University College and Central University, ATU is widely expected to underline this theme.

Aside Zone B, where All Nations University College has qualified to the quarterfinals in its debut appearance in the competition, the remaining list of quarter finalists has come as no brainers.

Marshalls University College qualified from Zone A, University of Cape-Coast (UCC) qualified from Zone C and reigning University of Ghana (UG) qualified from Zone D. All three qualified on the back off winning all games played in the respective zones.

All Nations topped Zone B with the same record at the expense of 2016 quarter finalist Valley View University.

Should the streak continue, Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology (KNUST) and University of Energy and Natural Resources (UENR) are also expected to make the quarterfinals.

By Yaw Adjei-Mintah
@YawMintYM on Twitter


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here