2016 winners Ahly
Second from Left Braves Guard Jeffrey Djimatey joins Pillars players for a photo.
This list of teams set to compete in this year’s FIBA Africa Champions Cup has been completed following the conclusion of qualifiers across the continent.

Qualifying games to determine teams to represent various zones came to a close a few days back and wild cards slots were equally handed out to complete the roster.

Ferroviario de Beira of Mozambique and Union Sportive Monastirienne of Tunisia received the slots to feature in the competition despite failing to qualify automatically to the championship.

The competition which runs from December 11-20 will be held in Tunisia with Egyptian side Al Ahly as defending champions.

The West African zone will be represented by Nigerian side Kano Pillars and Gombe Bulls who placed first and second respectively in Zone 3.

Nigeria could have had three representatives at the games had Mark Mentors received a Wild Card slot after finishing third in the Zone.

Below is a full list of competing teams:

Etoile Sportive Rades (Tunisia), Kano Pillars (Nigeria), Gome Bulls (Nigeria), AS Mazembe (Democratic Republic of Congo), New Generation (DR Congo), City Oilers (Uganda), Interclube de Luanda (Angola), Sport Libolo e Benfica (Angola), Ferroviario da Beira (Mozambique), Union Sportive Monastirienne* (Tunisia), Association Sportive Sale (Morocco) and Groupment Sportive Petroliers (Algeria).

By Yaw Adjei-Mintah
@YawMintYM on Twitter


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here