A host of big names in Ghana are in line to feature at the upcoming Sprite Ball Championship next year with just a slot up for grabs in the male division.

16 schools will compete at the 2018 Sprite Ball Championship-which runs from January 4-6- in the boys division with Opoku Ware School defending the trophy.

15 schools have qualified automatically to the Championship including the reigning champions, former champions Mfantsipim School and St. Augustine’s College.

However, for schools that missed out on automatic entries at the regional competitions, a lifeline has been presented by organizers Rite Sports by way of a special list that will be determined by voting.

The voting process is still yet to be finalized per reports reaching Basketballghana.com but the school list has been confirmed.

Headlining the list are renowned names in the competition Presbyterian Boys Senior High School (PRESEC-Legon), Ghana Secondary Technical School (GSTS) and Accra Academy.

Fourth placed side at the Ashanti Regional qualifiers- Kumasi Anglican Senior High School- is on the list. Below is the full list:

G.S.T.S. in action against Aquinas at the last national edition.
PRESEC-Legon at the last Sprite Ball
Ghana Secondary Technical School (GSTS)
St. Peter’s Boys SHS
Ghana Lebanon Secondary School
Bishop Herman SHS
Keta Business College
Kumasi Anglican SHS
Accra Academy

By Yaw Adjei-Mintah

@YawMintYM on Twitter



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here