Nigeria Coach Alex Nwora
Nigeria Captain Ike Diogu

Nigeria won its first African Championship in 2015.
2017 FIBA Africa Championship silver medal winners (AfroBasket) Nigeria have named 18 players in its preliminary squad as the team prepares for the 2019 FIBA World Cup qualifiers.

The qualifiers take place from February 23-25 in Bamako, Mali with the D’ Tigers set to face the host nation, Rwanda and Uganda in Group B.

The 2015 AfroBasket Champions will cut the number to 12 right before the three day mini competition in the West African country.

Nigeria Coach Alex Nwora has named an experienced side to help his side qualify to the next round and inch closer to be one of five teams from the continent in China next year.

Members of the victorious 2015 group Ben Uzoh and former Syracuse University standout Michael Gbinije have been included in the team.

Captain Ike Diogu is sure to make the final cut which is likely to have 2017 AfroBasket All-Tournament Team member Ikenna Iroegbu included.

Nigeria plays Uganda and Rwanda before playing host nation Mali on Sunday February 25. Below is a full list of the squad:

Dung Eli Abraham Michael Adetukunbo Nwogbo Lotana Afam Jeleel Akindele
Ofoegbu Chima Obi Emenago Clinton Ike Diogu Michael Efevberha
Emmanuel Erhiurhoro Michael Gbinije Ikenna Iroegbu Ike Nwamu
Bryant Mbamalu Usman Mohammed Christopher Obekpa Benjamin Uzoh
Yakubu Abdul Wahab Talib Zanna

By Yaw Adjei-Mintah
@YawMintYM on Twitter


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here