The 2020 Universities, Polytechnics and Colleges (UPAC) Basketball Championship will commence on March 7 can confirm.

The upcoming competition is scheduled to have 32 teams representing institutions participate in Ghana’s biggest tertiary basketball tournament.

This year’s UPAC is the seventh edition with the competition commencing in 2011 and the competition has run annually since 2015.

The participating schools are drawn into zones with four in each zone; the zonal winners progress to the national competition. The eight successful teams are divided further to two groups and teams compete in an all play all format.

The top two teams in each group at the national stage progress to the semifinals to battle in one off games for places in the finals. understands Koforidua Technical University, All Nations University College, Ho Technical University and University of health and Allied Sciences will compete in the competition’s opening round in Zone A.

Should University of health and Allied Sciences compete in next month’s tournament, it would be the institution’s debut. Ho, All Nations and Koforidua competed in last year’s zonal competition.

All Nations (red) in 2019 Zonal Championship
Koforidua (white) in 2019 Zonal Championship

By Yaw Adjei-Mintah

@YawMintYM on Twitter


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here