Rwanda's Gray dunks ball against South Sudan Photo Courtesy: FIBA can confirm 12 nations have qualified to compete in the final phase of qualification games to the 2023 FIBA World Cup.

Next year’s World Cup takes place in Philippines, Japan and Indonesia from August 25th to September 10th with African nations set to represent.

Tunisia Center Salah Mejri blocks shot against Cameroon shotPhoto Courtesy: FIBA

The list of countries was confirmed following the conclusion of qualification games in the first round that ended this past weekend. Games were played in Rwanda, Ivory Coast and Egypt.

Photo Courtesy: NBBF

Egypt, DR Congo, Senegal, Ivory Coast, Angola, South Sudan, Tunisia, Cape Verde, Nigeria and Uganda; Cameroon and Guinea joined the group despite losing 56-67 to South Sudan and Ivory Coast respectively.

Cameroon progressed ahead of Rwanda after Rwanda lost 66-76 to Tunisia while Guinea qualified ahead of Central African Republic (CAR) after CAR lost 60-76 to Angola.

South Sudan v Mali in a qualifier. Photo Courtesy: FIBA

The 12 qualified teams have been drawn into two groups with six in each group; the top two teams in each group and the best third placed team progress to the World Cup. The next round of games are to be played from August 26 to August 28.

Photo Courtesy: FIBA
Photo Courtesy: FIBA

By Yaw Adjei-Mintah

@YawMintYM on Twitter


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here